Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington

Saving Sophie by Sam CarringtonSaving Sophie by Sam Carrington
Published by HarperCollins UK on August 12th 2016
Rating: three-stars
Genres: Fiction, Small Town & Rural, Contemporary Women, Psychological, Thrillers, Crime, Mystery & Detective, General, Suspense
Pages: 400
Find on Goodreads
Synopsis:

‘This book is not only gripping, but it explores the mother/daughter relationship perfectly, and ends with a gasp-out-loud twist’ Closer
‘I DEVOURED THIS STORY IN ONE SITTING’ Louise Jensen, author of The Sister
A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?
Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?
When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.
Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.
Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.
As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.
A taut psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and I Let You Go.

Well, this was an intriguing read. There’s a part of that really, really loved it; it’s the first thriller to really catch my attention in a little while (mostly because I think everyone and their mother is writing thrillers these days, as they ride the Gone Girl wave) but a lot of what happened would have actually been avoided if Sophie and Karen weren’t so bloody secretive. Especially since that’s a crime in and of itself. Perverting the course of justice? Obstructing the course of justice? Something to do with justice. There were times I literally wanted to frog-march them to the police station myself, or to gee up the police to actually do some policing.

Despite my issues with Sophie and Karen being too stupid to open their mouths (honestly, WHAT DID THEY THINK WAS GOING TO HAPPEN? Was it all magically going to disappear?!?!? HUH HUH HUH?!?!), I did really enjoy the story. It kept me gripped, wondering how it was going to go, what new secret was going to creep out next, and you felt like you couldn’t trust anyone, because nobody knew the meaning of the word truth. It was like they all took an oath to keep what happened that Saturday night secret forever, and I kind of liked Karen’s determination to figure it out (and I was massively surprised over who was involved!) It was very much a taut and tight thriller, and I definitely needed my wits about me to put the story together, because there was plenty going on.

What makes this an even more intriguing read is the fact that Karen is actually agoraphobic. Now, I know nothing about agoraphobia other than people don’t leave their house, because they panic and to see that in a main character was both intriguing (because I learnt so much) but also there was a part of me, a really bad part of me, that wanted to yell at Karen to just go outside and I know, I know, I know that that is not what you say to someone who can’t leave the house, but like Mike I just found it so frustrating, but I also understood it’s not as if Karen chose to stay at home, and she probably found it just as frustrating, and I felt bad for her, too, because that’s no life is it? That’s not the way to spend your life. I don’t always understand mental heath issues because I’ve never suffered with my mental health but having a main character who suffers really helps, and Sam really nailed that.

Saving Sophie really was an intriguing read. Yes, I got frustrated at times, but ultimately I could barely put this book down. Although, Sam, why did you do what you did to the dog? I just WHY?!?!?!?! I’m going to do a Hermione and start a protection agency for dogs in thrillers. Any animals in thrillers. THEY DESERVE BETTER, OKAY? I’m very excited for Sam’s second book and even more so that the same police team will be in book two, it’s ALWAYS nice to have a continuation like that. I remember DC Mack, but I am struggling with the lass’s name (sorry DC whatshername). Though in my defence she wasn’t a big part of the novel (I expected bigger) so hopefully she’ll come into her own in the next novel and I’ll remember her name. This is a solid, solid thriller.

three-stars
Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *