Book Review // The Regulars by Georgia Clark

Book Review // The Regulars by Georgia ClarkThe Regulars by Georgia Clark
Published by Simon and Schuster on August 2nd 2016
Rating: three-half-stars
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary Women, Coming of Age, Literary
Pages: 400
Find on Goodreads
Synopsis:

-Redbook Best of the Year Pick -PopSugar’s Best Books of the Year -Teen Vogue’s Best Books of the Year -Reading with Robin 2016 Favorite
A fierce, feisty, and “wonderfully entertaining” (Scott Westerfeld, author of Uglies) debut with a magical twist about three ordinary, regular girls who suddenly have their fantasies come true…or do they?
Best friends Evie, Krista, and Willow are just trying to make it through their mid-twenties in New York. They’re regular girls, with average looks and typical quarter-life crises: making it up the corporate ladder, making sense of online dating, and making rent.
Until they come across Pretty, a magic tincture that makes them, well...gorgeous. Like, supermodel gorgeous. And it’s certainly not their fault if the sudden gift of beauty causes unexpected doors to open for them.
But there’s a dark side to Pretty, too, and as the gloss fades for these modern-day Cinderellas, there’s just one question left:
What would you sacrifice to be Pretty?
Wildly irreverent, blatantly sexy, and observed with pitch-perfect wit, The Regulars is fresh “compulsive reading from a bright new voice” (Brenda Bowen, author of Enchanted August) in fiction, perfect for fans of Jennifer Close and Kevin Kwan.

The Regulars is one of those books that you’re not sure you get 100%. Or maybe that’s just me? For what it was, I thoroughly enjoyed it, but I’m sure I missed whatever the subliminal message was supposed to be (and feel free to enlighten me if you want?). I kind of love the plot, though. This magic elixir that can make you insanely pretty? Where do I sign up? I would take that baby, no problem. Which I suspect is the wrong answer, considering what happens to Evie, Willow and Krista, but hey ho.

I actually really enjoyed The Regulars. I thought it was fun and entertaining and I just loved the idea of taking this magic potion to change your life and seeing the way it effected Evie and Krista and Willow in different ways was so intriguing. To see what doors it opens, but to see what it does to you as a person. It really does show just how something so superficial as pretty can change your life, for what seems like the better, but might not actually be. I mean I am actually okay with myself. I know who I am, which I think Krista, Evie and Willow kind of lost along the way, swept up on the wave of being Pretty.

I actually flew through this in a couple of days, it was quite spell-binding, and I just had no idea what would happen next. Each girl had their own thing going on, and their personalities completely shone through. I was mighty impressed. Georgia Clark very much has her pulse on what’s hot and popular in the writing world these days and this is so achingly topical and on the money. This is so worth a read and proves the old adage that looks aren’t everything (although they are pretty awesome…)

three-half-stars
Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *