Book Review: No Other Darkness by Sarah Hilary

Book Review: No Other Darkness by Sarah HilaryNo Other Darkness by Sarah Hilary
Series: D.I. Marnie Rome #2
Published by Hachette UK on April 23rd 2015
Rating: five-stars
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Crime, Mystery & Detective, General
Pages: 352
Also by this author: Tastes Like Fear
Synopsis:

Sarah Hilary, winner of the 2015 Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year for SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN returns with her second DI Marnie Rome novel. For readers of Alex Marwood, Claire Mackintosh or any fan of Line of Duty or Happy Valley.
'Hell for leather compelling' Observer
The bodies of two young boys are discovered, trapped in an underground bunker, huddled against one another for warmth.
Who put them there? Why has it taken five years to find them? Who are they?
So begins one of the most difficult and traumatic cases of DI Marnie Rome's career. Her only focus is the boys. She has to find out just who they are and what happened to them.For Marnie, there is no other darkness than this...

Oh my word, Sarah Hilary is a genius! No Other Darkness is a book I absolutely flew through. I did not intend to read it in a couple of sittings, in the same day, but I just couldn’t put it down, and isn’t that just the best kind of book? Makes me feel like an idiot for waiting so long to read it, mind, because it was just THAT GOOD. Sarah Hilary is without a doubt one of the finest crime writers you will ever come across, and I am saying that after just two books, but I am hoping for so many more featuring DI’s Rome & Jakes because their partnership is awesome.

No Other Darkness does not have the best plot in the world, in fact you need quite the strong stomach for this plot, because it involves dead kids. Which is just a no-no for crime shows or books, because you immediately get that pit in your stomach, like who could do that to their kid?!?! But it was actually do very sensitively, and there’s nothing like dead kids to motivate a team of coppers into finding out what the hell happened, especially since the kids in question had been trapped in that bunker, dead, for four to five years. But as you come to expect with Sarah’s books, it isn’t all as it seems and the twist is out of this world, jaw-droppingly good. You’ll literally sit looking at the book in shock, or maybe that’s just me?

I just loved everything about this book. The pace of the book was phenomenal, letting us into the story bit by bit, dangling juicy tidbits, without fully explaining everything and it certainly left me wanting more, because I finished the damn thing within the day, didn’t I? I just had to know what had happened, what kind of person leaves their kids in a bunker to die, and, hand oh heart, I never saw any of it coming. And it was so good to be back with Marnie Rome and Noah Jake. I love them both and they make such a good team, with Noah knowing when to keep his mouth shut, and vice versa.

*Sigh* This book was perfection. So well written, the plot was fantastic (and sad), the ending left me frantic, my heart beating out of my chest, hardly believing my eyes, it was just twist after twist after twist and I could barely take it all in. I do not know how I will recover, although Tastes Like Fear is winking at me from my TBR pile. Maybe I recover by just having more Marnie & Noah?!?!? SOUNDS LIKE A PLAN TO ME.

five-stars
Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *