Book Review: Melody Bittersweet & the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency by Kitty French

Book Review: Melody Bittersweet & the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency by Kitty FrenchThe Skeletons of Scarborough House by Kitty French
Series: The Chapelwick Mysteries #1
Published by Bookouture on July 14th 2016
Rating: five-stars
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Crime, Romance, Romantic Comedy, Contemporary
Pages: 280
Synopsis:

Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate fudge cake comes served with a side of murder.
Scarborough House is haunted, and it’s not doing much for Donovan Scarborough’s investment portfolio. No one wants to buy a place with levitating crockery, or (the wrong kind of) rhythmic pounding throughout the night.
Luckily, Melody “I-See-Dead-People” Bittersweet has just launched her own ghostbusting agency with best friend Marina, geeky, keen Arthur, and a one-eared pug called Lestat. They’re quick to take the case, even if it has already sort of (definitely) been given to Leo Dark, Melody’s rakish, despicable ex.
Melody soon discovers the resident phantoms are three brothers, one who was murdered at twenty, while the others lived to old age. But did the family exile the right person, or did the true killer get away with it?
Donovan Scarborough doesn’t care who solves the case. Whoever gets rid of the ghosts gets paid.
Can Melody and her new crew untangle the mystery, and bring the brothers peace, before Leo? Or will his distracting sexiness and Melody’s bonkers family cause the agency to fall at its first hurdle?
This is the PERFECT choice for fans of HY Hanna, Janet Evanovich, MC Beaton, and Gina LaManna, who’ll find themselves completely hooked and crying with laughter as they join Melody and her crew on their spooktastic adventure.
This book was previously published as Melody Bittersweet and the Girls' Ghostbusting Agency.
What everyone’s saying about The Skeletons of Scarborough House:
I laughed so hard that I had to stop drinking my coffee for fear of spurting it all over my desk … I seriously can't remember the last time I laughed this hard … absofreakinglutely hilarious.’ 5* Well Read Pirate Queen
Absolutely fantastic from the first page. Did not stop smiling once. Emotional at parts but a super fun read throughout. The writing was amazing and had me totally hooked. Cannot wait for the sequel!’ Book Geek Writes
Absolutely hilarious … I have not laughed like that in a very, very long time … It’s a book that just keeps giving, right until the very end … Sheer brilliance!’ 5* The Writing Garnet
I couldn't put this book down … so many comical moments, I was either laughing or smiling. If you are in need of cheering up definitely read this book … brilliant!’ 5* Rae Reads
Unputdownable, captivating and laugh out loud funny!! A definite must read!! 5+ Stars!! … I loved this story!’ Words Turn Me On
‘One of my favourite new books … so much heart, so much joy, so much laughter, and warmth. It's funny one minute, and has you tearing up the next … absolutely love this book … amazing.’ 5* Bookish Escapes
An absolute scream from start to finish! … Should you ever find yourself in dire need of cheering up, this will do the trick - guaranteed! IT’S FUN, IT’S FRISKY and IT’S FABULOUS! I'm already little 'cray cray' for the next case. CAN. NOT. WAIT!!!’ Little Bookness Lane
An absolute delight.’ 5* Bloomin Brilliant Books

Melody Bittersweet and the Girl’s Ghostbusting Agency is one of those books I feel like I’ve read before – don’t ask me when, or what it was, because I’ve got no idea, but there’s some kind of familiarity about this book that gave me a very weird sense of deja vu. It’s actually one of my favourite new books – there’s just something about this book that gives it so much heart, so much joy, so much laughter, and warmth. It’s funny one minute, and has you tearing up the next, and I can’t wait for Melody Bittersweet #2, because this is a series that can just run, and run, I can see it now. Melody Bittersweet and her co-cast will never get old.

I wasn’t sure at first how the book would go – would there be multiple ghosts being busted? Would it be like Ghostbusters, not that I’ve SEEN ghostbusters, but I know they were funky suits and have hoovers. But it seems to be one-case-per-book format, which is actually pretty amazing, because I actually loved the Scarboroughs. Actually, that’s a lie, I loved Douglas and Isaac. Lloyd was a jerk. A grade-A jerk. But their story was intriguing, and Melody tries to find out who actually killed Douglas – was it Isaac, as everyone believed, or was it Douglas’s twin Lloyd? It’s actually a really sad story and as it all came out at the end, I did find myself becoming quite teary-eyed, because, like Melody, I had become attached to these charming, wise-cracking ghosts.

I also absolutely loved Melody, Artie and Marina. They make the most amazing ghostbusting team, you’ve got no idea. Melody is just awesome full stop, the way she’s not afraid of anything (and when you can see dead people you kinda wouldn’t be afraid, ever, would you?) and I love how she and Marina are the two tightest people you will ever meet, they’re so close, like sisters, and they both support each other and it’s amazing. But Artie! OH MY GOD, ARTIE. He was so sweet! So lovely. And call me crazy, but I kinda saw some sparks between Artie and Marina, which would be INSANE. But I’m calling it. I’M CALLING IT. MARTIE IS A GO. (Or maybe it’s just in my head.) I loved the team and Melody’s mum and Grandma (her Grandma in particular was HILARIOUS).

Now there’s a bit of a love triangle – I say a bit, because Leo Dark is no match for Fletch. I’m sorry, but he couldn’t hold a candle to Fletch, and for me Melody/Fletch is the way Kitty French has to go. Leo had his shot, he hurt Melody, and he can never be allowed back in her heart again, do you hear me? Plus he’s an idiot. He’s an IDIOT. Fletch is not, Fletch is awesome. And his and Melody’s chemistry is off the freaking charts. I mean, Melody went out and bought a DOG because that’s what she told Fletch she’d done, who does that?!??!! But that was amazing, because Lestat is amazing (not Parsnip, although that, too, was hilarious).

Melody Bittersweet and the Girl’s Ghostbusting Agency had it all. I just knew right from the off that this was the book for me, that I would absolutely love this book, and I did. I loved it all. The characters, the plot, the romance/sparks, the dog, the ghosts. There was not a bad thing in this book, except the Fembots, who needed a slap and Lloyd Scarborough who needed a punch. This was a genuinely brilliant read – funny, flirty, emotional, heart-warming, all the superlatives you can think of should be levied at this book because it was amazing. But, there’s only one teensy-tiny problem: I need book two now, Kitty French. Now.

five-stars
Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *