Book Review: Head Over Heels by Holly Smale

Book Review: Head Over Heels by Holly SmaleHead Over Heels by Holly Smale
Series: Geek Girl #5
Published by HarperCollins UK on April 7th 2016
Rating: five-stars
Genres: Young Adult, Humorous Stories, Girls & Women, Love & Romance
Pages: 448

“My name is Harriet Manners, and I will always be a geek.”
The fifth book in the bestselling, award-winning GEEK GIRL series.
Harriet Manners knows almost every fact there is.
She knows duck-billed platypuses don’t have stomachs.She knows that fourteen squirrels were once detained as spies.She knows that both chess and snakes and ladders were invented in the same country.
And for once, Harriet knows exactly how her life should go. She’s got it ALL planned out. So her friends seem less than happy, Harriet is determined to Make Things Happen!If only everyone else would stick to the script...
But is following the rules going to break hearts for GEEK GIRL?

Holly Smale’s Geek Girl series has been one of my favourites ever since I read Geek Girl. Harriet Manners is the kinda girl you want as your best friend – she’s clumsy, she’s a geek, but she’s got a heart of pure gold, and that’s not something to say no to. She’s had SUCH an incredibly journey so far, and here we are at book five, Head Over Heels. There’s only one proper book left, but there’s also a special, too, so it’s NOT ALL OVER YET. But we’re getting there and you have no idea how sad that makes me, because I’m so not ready to let Harriet Manners go. Although I am looking forward to re-reading the books IN ONE LONG GO, so yeah.

Head Over Heels is fabulous as always. After everything that’s happened so far, Harriet just wants a bit of stability in her life, but if you know Harriet Manners, you’ll know that’s physically impossible, so she ends up in all manner of trouble. That’s just Harriet’s way. She doesn’t do things the easy way, ever. And that’s why I love her. She makes mistakes, she messes up, but in the end you know it’ll be okay (or you hope TO WHATEVER GOD YOU BELIEVE IN that it will be okay). Honestly, this book series makes me genuinely happy. I’m always giggling to myself at Harriet’s antics, or something her dad has done (he never learns – also interesting, are jaffa cakes biscuits or cakes? I SAY CAKE), or even Annabel who has her moments, or Toby who is SO the male version of Harriet.

Holly Smale has built an unforgettable cast of characters, and Harriet visits some stunning locations (although from what we see from the end of Head Over Heels the best is yet to come, and I have literal FEAR about what is to come, actually, but that’s total spoiler stuff so I’ll shut up) and once again, Harriet goes on some travels, does some modelling, and she’s just so refreshing as a model. TAKE NOTE CARA. Honestly, I love these books, and each adventure just makes me so thrillingly happy, because these are HAPPY BOOKS. Happy books are so rare, because it seems these days YA has to be all death and doom and gloom, etc, so I like that the Geek Girl books are a ray of sunlight, and it’s such a privilege to see Harriet grow up.

Head Over Heels had everything I wanted. Harriet, the most important part, duh. Some romance (I did a fist-pump, I’ve been waiting since All That Glitters for that). Tabitha was awesome in this book. She is SO the coolest baby ever. It made me laugh, it made me sad, it made me want to punch people (India, mostly, she irritated the absolute life out of me), and it made me so indescribably happy. My life will be a MUCH duller place with no Harriet Manners spouting facts here, there and everywhere. I am STOKED for book 6. I see some amazing things happening, and while I’m not ready to say bye, I am always ready for new Harriet Manners and I’m already itching.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *