Book Review + Extract // Frostblood by Elly Blake

Book Review + Extract // Frostblood by Elly BlakeFrostblood by Elly Blake
Series: Frostblood #1
Published by Hachette UK on January 12th 2017
Rating: five-stars
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy & Magic, Young Adult Fiction, Romance, Paranormal, Fantasy, Contemporary
Pages: 384
Synopsis:

The first in an addictive young adult fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass.
'If there is one epic fantasy series that you pick up next year, make sure it's this one.' - K-BOOKS'Fast-paced and brimming with magic and intrigue.' - Lori M. Lee, GATES OF THREAD AND STONE
Enter a world where fire and ice are mortal enemies...
Ruby is a Fireblood. In a land ruled by frost, her very existence is a crime. She's spent her whole life in hiding.
Until the day Frostblood soldiers raid her village and kill her mother. The day she swears to avenge her people.
She must travel deep into the heart of the enemy, to the court of the Frost King, with only the mysterious warrior Arcus - a Frostblood rebel - by her side. But with alliances between flame and ice strictly forbidden, is Arcus friend or foe?
Ruby will only have one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who took everything from her. But she has no idea just how hot her fire will burn...

****SEE BELOW FOR AN EXCLUSIVE EXTRACT****

Where do I start with my love for Frostblood? Fantasy is still an incredibly new genre to me personally, but it impresses me every single time, the ability authors have to bring you into their imagined worlds is immense. Frostblood is right up there with what I’ve read so far of the Throne of Glass series, it’s addictive, and I finished it feeling immensely satisfied (thank you Elly Blake for not giving us a cliff-hanger ending) but also knowing if someone offered me Fireblood to read RIGHT NOW I would take them up on in immediately. Because I wasn’t done with Ruby, with Arcas, with the world of frostbloods and firebloods. I craved more.

What I liked most about Frostblood was the pace of the book. It zips along at such a fast pace, but it feels entirely natural. You never feel like anything is being rushed, but you’re never bogged down in the details. From Ruby’s mother dying, to her entire village being razed, to her being held prisoner, to her being broken out, it all skips along quick enough to hold your attention and leave you wanting more. The chemistry between Ruby and Arcus is off the charts. They’re enemies right off the bat, with Ruby being a fireblood and Arcus being a frostblood, and they’re mistrustful of each other, but willing to work together to defeat the common enemy: the frostblood king. But as they spar and banter with each other, it just transformed into something more, at the blink of an eye and I was HOOKED. I could feel the tension in the air, and during every interaction, I was sitting, thinking, “KISS DAMN IT KISS KISS KISS KISS KISS.” It made my heart sing, because I love, absolutely love, enemies-turned-friends. It’s intoxicating and written well, it can really get you excited and Elly Blake absolutely nailed it.

I also really liked that the plot wasn’t overly complicated – the mission was simple: Ruby wanted to kill the frostblood king, and with the help of Arcus, and some monks, they would help her do that. It was easy to follow, I could imagine the world in my mind, something I struggle with with fantasy books, and I really, really enjoyed the book. The writing was amazing, the plot was fantastic and leaves a lot open for Fireblood, and the characters blew my mind. The whole idea of pitting frost vs fire was amazing and I genuinely can’t wait to see where book two takes us.

If you like fantasy books, you’ll love Frostblood, I promise. It’s fresh and exciting, the chemistry between the characters is off the charts (if you like that kind of thing, which I do – I lap it up!) and the plot was fantastic. I raced through the book in just one sitting and I can see this being a massive release of 2017 and the sequel cannot come soon enough (and thankfully I only have to wait until September – phew!).

Ice cracked like the breaking of bones.

   I woke with a jerk, heart racing. A dark shape, something strange and inhuman, had been hovering over me, touching my cheek in a blistering caress. I blinked away the dream, and the prison came into focus.

   Frost swept the prison in a white wave, crusting over stone walls and insinuating itself into every crack and keyhole. It spilled across the floor and hardened into glittering sheets that stopped inches away, leaving me on an island of bare stone.

   Booted feet scraped to a halt outside my cell. I stifled a groan. Not again. No more guards tonight. But guards didn’t smell of oiled leather and soap. My eyes flicked up to a tall, hooded figure hulking outside my cell, a torch held in his right hand. My spine tightened and fine hairs rose on my neck.

   Another hooded shape joined the first. This figure was smaller and leaned on a walking stick that he tapped with each step. A short white beard flowed over the collar of his robe.

   “So you think this is the one?” He spoke quietly, his refined accent jarringly out of place in this pit of lowborn murderers and thieves.

   “Look,” said the taller figure, his voice deeper, more vigorous. “See how the ice refuses to touch her?” He sucked in a breath and blew it out with force. The water in the air turned to ice and fell over me in tiny pellets that steamed back into vapor as they met my skin.

   I bit off a moan, my eyes wide with terror. So these were Frostbloods, who had a power in complete opposition to my own. I struggled to keep my breathing even, to hide my panic.

five-stars
Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *