Book Review // Blood Sisters by Jane Corry

Book Review // Blood Sisters by Jane CorryBlood Sisters by Jane Corry
Published by Penguin UK on June 29th 2017
Rating: four-stars
Genres: Fiction, Family Life, Thrillers, Suspense
Pages: 464
Buy: Hardback/Paperback|Kindle
Find on Goodreads
Also by this author: My Husband's Wife
Synopsis:

THREE LITTLE GIRLS SET OFF TO SCHOOL ONE SUNNY MAY MORNING. WITHIN AN HOUR, ONE OF THEM IS DEAD.

From the author of the Sunday Times Top Ten and Kindle bestseller MY HUSBAND'S WIFE, comes an even more addictive, page-turning and powerful novel about two women bound by a deadly secret. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Erin Kelly and BA Paris.

Kitty lives in a care home. She can't speak properly, and she has no memory of the accident that put her here. At least that's the story she's sticking to.

Art teacher Alison looks fine on the surface. But the surface is a lie. When a job in a prison comes up she decides to take it - this is her chance to finally make things right.

But someone is watching Kitty and Alison.Someone who wants revenge for what happened that sunny morning in May. And only another life will do...


Last year I loved My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry. It was an incredible read, probably one of my favourites of the year so I was stoked to get a proof of Blood Sisters in the mail. I actually thought I’d lost my copy – you know when you put a book on your shelf and you have too many books and can’t remember where it is? Yeah, that was me trying to find this book. Now I have to be honest – I didn’t love Blood Sisters as much as I loved My Husband’s Wife, but it was still a pretty great read.

  • Jane Corry writes *so* well. You get so caught up in her narrative, in the stories she’s weaving and the pages really do fly by. 
  • I loved the dual perspectives – first person narrative for Alison, an artist clearly suffering from some kind of past trauma; and the third person narrative from Kitty, who’s in a care home, unable to speak, and we don’t know why or what connects the two. There’s an aura around both their stories of something tragic happening and I actually think I preferred Kitty’s narrative to Alison’s, only because we got to see that just because Kitty didn’t speak, didn’t mean she didn’t understand or wasn’t speaking in her head. Her in-head narrative was fantastic. 
  • I loved the whole creepy aspect to the plot – Alison starts getting notes and feeling like she’s being followed, even receiving creepy notes at the prison where she’s an artist in residence and how that plot came together really surprised me, in a good way. I didn’t see it coming at all. 


There was nothing necessarily bad about Blood Sisters, I just personally preferred Corry’s first thriller. But this was another solid thriller. I had no idea what the actual catalyst of the accident was – and the story behind Lead Man left me gasping in surprise. 

Jane Corry has done fantastically well with her first two thrillers. Both kept me wanting more, both I devoured in just a few sittings and I’m already looking forward to a third book from Jane. She’s got such a good talent for leaving you surprised and amazed and I really, really enjoyed Blood Sisters. 

four-stars
Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *