Blog Tour Extract: Cocktails & Dreams by A.L. Michael

Today is my turn on the blog tour for A.L. Michael’s new book Cocktails & Dreams. I’ve got an extract for you all today, enjoy!

‘Sweetheart, we’re not joking here,’ Jacques said seriously, leaning in, ‘What do you want to do with your life? What are you good at?’

I shrugged, ‘Being invisible.’

I listened as they tried to tell me that wasn’t true, and it was nice of them, but they were wrong. They’d known me a few months, as a quiet, hard-working bartender. I was just the petite blonde girl who had to ask for help with her eyeliner and didn’t know how to get a corset fitted.

Before that, I had always been invisible. I was the daughter of Persephone Black, international superstar. The number of times I’d been pushed aside at a concert, her loyal fans reaching out for her, knocking me back, until I couldn’t catch up with her, was unbelievable. No one ever realised I was gone.

It had been fun, for a while, being the invisible kid. We loved to play hide and seek, me and my mother. Moving from hotel to hotel, city to city, we would hide and seek in hotel lobbies and under  bars, behind heavy curtains and beneath beds. One time I’d spent an hour and a half looking for her in a hotel in Leeds. She was due to be on stage in a couple of hours, so I knew I had to find her quickly. I did find her, eventually. In the women’s toilets in the hotel bar, having sex with a bartender. I saw those goddamn brown cowboy boots with the daisies stitched up the side, alongside  black, shiny shoes, and heard those breathless gasps and groans, increasing in speed and desperation. I thought she was being sick. I didn’t really know what it meant at all, but when she emerged from the bathroom stall, checking her lipstick and washing her hands, her eyes met mine in the mirror. She blinked, once.

‘Your turn to hide baby girl,’ her eyes didn’t stray to the dark haired male, exiting stage left, as she wiped away a stray smudge of eyeliner. ‘Go on, your turn.’

I’d gone, hidden on the tour bus. Which was where they found me the next morning, huddled and shivering in my sleep. The whole night, and no one had wondered where the child was.

But I didn’t tell them that, because things changed when people knew your mother was a superstar.

‘I’m sure you’re not invisible,’ Charlotte rubbed my arm, her eyes wide and kind ‘you just haven’t found your sparkle yet.’

I opened my mouth to tell her I didn’t mind being invisible, that it could be a superpower if you let it, hiding in plain sight, but I thought maybe she was right. I hadn’t found my sparkle.

Maybe it was time to try.

A heart-warming novel with characters you’ll love, don’t miss this first in a new series for romance, laugh-out-loud comedy and a feel-good ending. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

I was seven years old when I realized my mother was not a great person… 

Since Savvy was abandoned by her rockstar mother, she has craved a normal life. But after years of financing her boyfriend’s lacklustre career, he leaves her when he hits the bigtime.

Savvy’s friends at the burlesque club where she serves elaborate cocktails encourage her to make bold changes in her life. She soon meets handsome bartender Milo, and begins to plan a future she can be excited about.

But when Savvy’s estranged mother crashes back into her life, her newfound happiness is under threat… will Savvy have the courage to pursue her dreams? 

See inside for a delicious cocktail recipe and book club questions!

A.L. Michael is hurtling towards the end of her twenties a little too quickly. She is the author of nine novels. Her most recent collection of books, The Martini Club Series, will start with Cocktails and Dreams, released 24th July 2017. She likes to write about sassy females who follow their dreams, and don’t take no for an answer.

She is a Creative Therapeutic Facilitator, currently researching the power of creative writing to be helpful in recovering from eating disorders, and believes in the power of writing to heal.

You can find out more about A.L. Michael at (surprisingly) www.almichael.com and on twitter @almichael_

Book Link Amazon: http://amzn.to/2uoBJbf

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/cocktails-and-dreams


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow:
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *